Superhero Comic Strip:The Adventures of Shutterbug

christyschueler_comicstrip

This week I had to create an original superhero comic strip in at least 6 frames. I was required to change the background at least twice, create at least 2 characters, and change each characters positioning once. I also had to combine vectors with real images. For my comic strip I decided to create a character named Shutterbug, who is represented by Selena Gomez.  As it states in the first frame, Shutterbugs power is all in her camera. She takes pictures of her enemies and blinds them with her flash, and keeps their photos as trophies. I wanted to incorporate something that I really enjoy into my character, thus why I chose photography as a main element of power. Since I made Selena Gomez represent my superhero, I naturally made Justin Bieber represent the villain, Spike.

Through this project, I learned that is hard to combine vector art and images together to look realistic yet animated. My biggest challenge with combining the too, was getting the sizing of each element to fit just right. So for example, Selena Gomez and Justin Bieber’s heads proportion to their vector bodies. It is very easy for the head size to look to big compared to the body size, and vice versa. However if executed correctly (which I believe I did), the combinations of vectors and images look very cool. For my comic strip, I tried to make each frame flow together to make a story. I tried to not skip over any important moments that happened in between each frame. I believe I did this successfully, and made my comic strip flow nicely together.

This project was difficult for me. It is a very time consuming project, and you had to be very organized. The organization was not as much of a problem as was the amount of time I had to execute the comic strip. I am a slow worker and I try to include every detail I can, which made this particular project challenging. As I said earlier, combining both vectors and images to flow with one another was my main challenge when creating the comic strip. The different perspective of the different backgrounds was a challenge as well. I had to make sure the proportions of the elements were correct and made the image make sense.

I do think I was successful with this project because I went beyond the required elements and created in my opinion a unique and creative piece. If I could redo this project, I would work more diligently each day. I completed the project at my house over the weekend and it took about 4 hours. If I had another chance, I would work on each frame 1 day, opposed to doing most of the project in one day. In the future, I will manage my time better and most likely incorporate both images and vectors in my projects.

 

 

Leave a comment