Cemetery Landscape Photography

cemetarylandscape8

cemetarylandscape5

This week we had to take landscape/cityscape photos and edit them to make them original. I decided to take photos of the tombs and other parts of the Crown Hill Cemetery in Indianapolis. I wanted to do a landscape no one else would do, and I wanted to be able to edit the photos to look mystic.

Through this project I learned how to take photos that looked good composition wise. I learned how to line up the photos so that it focused on the graves and did not have a lot of background noise. I also learned how to combine different types of edits in photoshop to create photos that looked gloomy and dark. I wanted to portray that dark look in these photos to reflect how people view graveyards to be. In other pictures I did color which symbolized what the graveyard actually looks like and how peaceful and beautiful it is in person.

I do think I was successful with this project because, I did something no one else did and I used different symbolism for the photos. I also did a lot of editing in some, which made  the photo come together as a whole. If I could do this project over, I would do nothing differently because I think everything turned out pretty well. I will most likely use the editing techniques I have used again when I am doing different projects.

Leave a comment